The Hopeful Wanderer
A Million Little Songs
Our Wall
2
0:00
-0:59

Our Wall

A Million Little Songs #2
2

Photo by Henry & Co. on Unsplash

Yes, I’d unwind the clock. I’d take us back
twelve years ago before the wounds were cut
so deep into our skin, the sad attack
that slammed the doors between us ever shut.

I should have bent the bolts, not set them true,
or left a crack in wood or solid wall.
Our oxygen is gone. My skin gone blue
and we die split–forever and for all.

The wounds will heal–or so the poets say
and we will find some beauty in this loss.
We shall endure to bleed another day,
our grief as natural as a toxic moss.

The door is not a door. It’s solid, firm.
And I am left to wander, wonder, squirm.

2 Comments
The Hopeful Wanderer
A Million Little Songs
Poetry is meant to be heard out loud! Poet Zach J. Payne shares his poems and talks about poetry.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Zach J. Payne