The Hopeful Wanderer
A Million Little Songs
keep me in technicolor, even when the clouds come in
0:00
-0:47

keep me in technicolor, even when the clouds come in

a poem

it’s not enough to pray for light to break
through leaden windows dark with dirt and grief,
nor can we ask the universe to fake
some light until we muster the belief
we should have always had. the grace of stars
is not diminished by the tired eyes
of humankind who see in skinny bars,
ignoring the true radiance of skies
that scream in ultraviolet, seethe in red,
beat with boldness that we’ll never know.
We see so little, lover; then we’re dead,
unknowing what the universe’d bestow
in all its majesty. Let faith be truth,
our every scar is perfect, tear uncouth.


So it’s been a while, I know.

Most of the last little while, I’ve been focusing on the novel that I’ve been trying to traditionally publish. One thing at a time, you know? But I have been writing some poetry, and I do want to share it.

Thank you all for being patient with me (or not!)

  • Zx

0 Comments
The Hopeful Wanderer
A Million Little Songs
Poetry is meant to be heard out loud! Poet Zach J. Payne shares his poems and talks about poetry.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Zach J. Payne
Recent Episodes