The Hopeful Wanderer
A Million Little Songs
Dissolution
0:00
-0:46

Dissolution

a sonnet

Now do not say ‘I love’, for love is vain.
Though glorious, it keeps a body cold
and drained of spirit. Loving her is pain;
it’s something I regret, if truth be told.
Hand me a blade and I would pare away
the lovely curls, the twinkle in her eye,
the tender words, the photographs of days
much better. I’d surrender to the sky
the psychic chains that tie, a decade on,
my thoughts to her: unwilling as they are,
the chord still echoes: when will she be gone?
Yes, I have tried to run, I’ve wandered far
and humored other loves. By grief and steel,
I would forget! I’d truly like to heal.

0 Comments
The Hopeful Wanderer
A Million Little Songs
Poetry is meant to be heard out loud! Poet Zach J. Payne shares his poems and talks about poetry.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Zach J. Payne