The Hopeful Wanderer
A Million Little Songs
A Million Little Songs
8
0:00
-1:18

A Million Little Songs

Welcome to AMLS!
8

Welcome to A Million Little Songs, a podcast from The Hopeful Wanderer substack. This is going to be a place where I share my poetry. Episodes are usually going to be fairly short, my ideal is to keep each one between 2-4 minutes. The majority of the time, it will just be me sharing a poem. I’m so grateful to everyone who takes the time to sign up and listen and read. Thank you!

And now, my first poem: also called A Million Little Songs. Dedicated to Carol Weaver, my first mentor.


You taught me how to sing my silent song,
to put a voice to all the pain I knew;
to conquer all the grief I dragged along,
discovering a center that was true,
reliable and certain as a stone,
a place to channel faith, both found and lost.
In singing, I am no longer alone,
not even when the tempest comes to toss
my everything into a disarray–
It happens now, again, but I arise
though battered, ever bruised. I’m here to stay
my silence shall not be my swift demise.

I write my little songs and sing them loud!
I lived my life in shame. I strive for proud.

8 Comments
The Hopeful Wanderer
A Million Little Songs
Poetry is meant to be heard out loud! Poet Zach J. Payne shares his poems and talks about poetry.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Zach J. Payne